European Union OCT’s

4 Dec

The European Union is looking to renew and update its relationship with its Members’ Overseas Territories. The current association between the EU and the overseas countries and territories is due to expire on December 31st, 2013, and a task force has been considering the changes that should be made.

“The Overseas Countries and Territories (OCTs) are associated with the European Union (EU) through a regime based on the provisions of Part IV of the Treaty on the Functioning of the EU (TFEU) and the detailed rules and procedures laid down at present in the Overseas Association Decision of 27 November 2001 … the European Council in its 22 December 2009 conclusions stressed the importance of updating the unique relationship between the EU and the OCTs to reflect new developments in the EU, in the OCTs and in the wider world. It also encouraged the Commission, through appropriate dialogue with the OCTs and the Member States, to revise the Overseas Association Decision .. .”

The review is applicable to all the OCT’s associated with the EU: Aruba, British Virgin Islands, Bonaire, Curaçao, Saba, Sint-Eustatius, Sint Maarten, Anguilla, Cayman islands, Turks & Caicos islands, Montserrat, New Caledonia, French Polynesia, Wallis & Futuna, Pitcairn, British Indian Ocean Territory, Mayotte, St Pierre & Miquelon, Greenland, British Antarctic Territory, Falkland Islands, South Georgian and South Sandwich Islands, St Helena, French Southern and Antarctic Territories.

Conclusions and options will be presented to the Council before July 2012.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: