Overseas Territories Consultative Council

24 Nov

The annual Overseas Territories Consultative Council [OTCC] wrapped up in London yesterday, with Britain pledging to make its 14 remaining dependencies a “priority” in the coming year.

At the opening session, attended by Premiers, Chief Ministers and other elected representatives from Britain’s Overseas Territories, Foreign Secretary William Hague said; ” My Ministerial team in the FCO and my colleagues across other Government departments will work tirelessly to ensure that our partnership promotes the best interest of all our citizens and a bright and successful future for the Overseas Territories.”

Discussions covered the new White Paper, aviation safety; financial regulation, financial crime and taxation, good governance, financial management and economic planning.

Henry Bellingham, the Foreign Office Minister hosting the meetings, said; “This government has a clear vision for our Overseas Territories to be vibrant and flourishing communities, proudly retaining aspects of their British identity and generating wider opportunities for their people… I had bilateral meetings with the Territory leaders on Tuesday and chaired my second Overseas Territories Consultative Council on Wednesday and Thursday. I was pleased to welcome over 250 guests to a reception that I hosted in honour of Territory leaders. Our discussions at the Consultative Council have been wide-ranging and constructive. .. I am glad that nine of my Ministerial colleagues from across Government were able to attend the Consultative Council this week, a clear demonstration that the UK Government as a whole is supporting the Territories, and not just the Foreign and Commonwealth Office and Department for International Development. We will continue to work closely with the Territories as we prepare for the publication of our White Paper on the Territories next year.”

The Territory leaders attending this year’s OTCC were Ms Cox; Hubert Hughes, Chief Minister, Anguilla; Kitty George, Councillor, Ascension Island; Dr. Orlando Smith, Premier, the British Virgin Islands; McKeeva Bush, Premier, the Cayman Islands; Jan Cheek, Member of the Legislative Assembly, the Falkland Islands; Reuben Meade, Premier, Montserrat; Rodney Buckley, Councillor, St Helena; Ian Lavarello, Chief Islander, Tristan da Cunha; Lillian Misick, Chair of the Consultative Forum and Theo Durham, Member of the Advisory Council, Turks and Caicos Islands.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: